Waterfalls in Odisha

Waterfalls in Odisha 

The topography of Odisha comprises highlands, uplands, and plateaus, due to which there are many waterfalls in the state.

Important waterfalls in Odisha are as follows:


Badaghagara, Waterfalls in Odisha,
Badaghagara Waterfall
Whatsapp Group
Telegram channel

This waterfall lies in the Keonjhar district of Odisha. It is located at a distance of 3 km downstream of Sanaghagara waterfall. It is about 60 m in height and a perennial source of water. It is the source of a small river, i.e., Machha Kandana.


Barehipani, Barehipani Waterfall,
Barehipani Waterfall


It is located in the Mayurbhanj district of Odisha. It has a total height of 400 m. It is the highest waterfall in Odisha and the second-highest waterfall in India. The source of the waterfall is the Budhabalanga River.

Joranda waterfall (150 m) is near it, and both are in the core area of Simlipal National Park.


Duduma Waterfall,
Duduma Waterfall

It is located on the boundary of Andhra Pradesh and Odisha states. It is situated at a distance of 92 km from Koraput district (Odisha) and 177 km from Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh).

It is formed by the Machkund River and is about 175 m high. It is also known as Matsya Tirtha. It also supports the Machkund Hydro Electric Power Project.


Gandahati Waterfall,
Gandahati Waterfall

This waterfall is located in the Gajapati district of Odisha. It is famous for its glittering waterfall. The water in this fall remains consistent throughout the year.


Harishankar Waterfall,
Harishankar Waterfall

This waterfall is located on the southern slope of the Gandharmardan hills in the Balangir district of Odisha. This is a place of pilgrimage that is famous for the presence of Shankar.


Hatipathar Waterfall,
Hatipathar Waterfall

This waterfall lies in the Rayagada district of Odisha. It is formed by the Nagavali River. It is an important picnic spot for tourists in Odisha.

This waterfall got its name from the huge elephant-shaped boulders that are found all over the landscape. In Oriya, Hathi means elephant and Pathar means boulder.


Jorandha Waterfall,
Jorandha Waterfall

This fall is located in the core area of Simlipal National Park in Mayurbhanj district. It is about 150 meters high.


Khandadhar Waterfall,
Khandadhar Waterfall

It is located in the mineral-rich forest of Sundargarh district. This waterfall (about 244 m) is the 12th largest waterfall in Odisha. Another waterfall of the same name is also located in Keonjhar district and is about 152 m high.


Khandula Waterfall, Khandula,
Khandula Waterfall, Khandula

This waterfall is located in Karlapat Wildlife Sanctuary in the Kalahandi district of Odisha. The waterfall got its name because of the shine of the goddess Khandula, which is situated on the top of the hill.


Koilighugar Waterfall,
Koilighugar Waterfall

This waterfall is located in the Jharsuguda district of Odisha. It is about 61 meters high. There is a Shivalingam known as Maheswarnath inside the fall.

This fall is in a river named ‘Ahiraj’ that comes out of the Chhuikhanch forest.


Miriglotah Waterfall,
Miriglotah Waterfall

This waterfall is situated 111 km from Rourkela in the Sundargarh district of Odisha. The waterfall is 100 feet high and situated besides the Kalta iron mines.


Nrusinghanath Waterfall,
Nrusinghanath Waterfall

This waterfall is located close to the Nrusinghanath temple, which is situated at the foothills of the Gandhamardhan hills in Bargarh district. At Nrusinghanath, other waterfalls are also located, like Gadadhar, Pitrudhar, Guptadhar, Bhimadhar, Kapiladhar, and Chaladhar.

Phurli Jharan

Phurli Jharan Waterfall,
Phurli Jharan Waterfall

It is a perennial waterfall that is located around 15 km from Bhawanipatna in Kalahandi district. It is about 16 meters high. It is a famous tourist spot due to its multi-colored rainbow, which is created by the sunrays falling on the scattered water particles of the fall.


Putudi Waterfall,
Putudi Waterfall

It is located 15 km from Phulbani in Kandhamal district in Odisha. It is formed by the Bada Saluki River. Dense forests and hills are situated on either side of this fall.


Pradhanpath Waterfall,
Pradhanpath Waterfall

This waterfall is close to Deogarh district and is located around 100 km from Sambalpur. It had the first hydroelectric power plant in the state of Odisha.


Sanghagra Waterfall,
Sanghagra Waterfall

This is a perennial waterfall. It is situated around 5 km from Keonjhar district. It is about 30 meters in height.

















Read also  : 

Mohmmad Kaif Height, Age, Girlfriend, Family, Biography & More



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top